About   /   About

The Development Authority of the North Country works with partners to meet the region's infrastructure needs in water, sewer, housing, telecommunications and solid waste management. 

The Authority also provides technical services to municipalities that strengthen communities and build capacity for economic development. 

The Development Authority was created in 1985 by the New York State Legislature to develop and manage the infrastructure needed to support the reactivation of the 10th Mountain Division at Fort Drum, and to serve the common interests of Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties. The Authority operates as a revenue-based public benefit corporation, independent of state operational funding.

An unpaid 13-member Board of Directors sets the policy and strategic direction of the Authority, which is then implemented by executive management and staff.

  The mission of the Development Authority of the North Country is to serve the common interests of Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence Counties by providing technical services and infrastructure, which will enhance economic opportunities in the region and promote the health and well-being of its communities.  

Since the time the Authority was created, the coinciding needs of Fort Drum and the region as a whole have resulted in benefits for both. The Development Authority of the North Country is unique among public authorities in New York State in its scope of activities.  Unlike other single-purpose state authorities, the Development Authority owns and operates a number of revenue-based infrastructure facilities including water and wastewater facilities, an extensive fiber optic network and a regional landfill.

Due to its geographic scope, the Authority has evolved into a problem-solving partner in regional development and is the region’s largest provider of shared services. Staff manages a wide range of business and housing loan programs that encourage growth and contribute to the prosperity of communities. Authority staff with a wide range of expertise provide fee-based technical services to municipalities including consolidation studies, Geographic Information System hosting and the management of water and wastewater facilities.

Due to its diverse activities and facilities, the Authority has six distinct operating divisions:  Administration,  Regional Development,  Engineering,  Materials Management,  Water Quality Management and Technology.